top of page

Background

I have strong roots in the discipline of sociology with a Bachelor's degree from St. Xavier's College, Mumbai and a Master's with Honors and an MPhil from the Department of Sociology, University of Mumbai. I also have a Bachelor's degree in Law. I have worked as a lawyer, a research associate, editorial assistant and a visiting professor teaching undergraduate sociology. My most recent job was that of a high school sociology teacher (along with many other roles expected of a teacher at a residential school).

 

During and after my MPhil, I worked as a part-time research and editorial assistant on two academic volumes published by Routledge in 2018 and 2022. During this time I was also research associate on several projects with the Centre for African Studies, University of Mumbai including a Major Research Project funded by the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), New Delhi. In 2019 and 2020, I taught papers in contemporary sociological theory and gender and sexuality to undergraduates in their final year at the Jyoti Dalal School of Liberal Arts, NMIMS University, Mumbai. The experience of teaching undergraduate classes in social theory led me to seriously consider teaching introductory sociology at high school level. I thus began teaching at The Valley School of the Krishnamurthi Foundation in Bangalore, India.

 

While I throughly enjoy academic research, I am truly at my creative best as a teacher. I have taken every opportunity to have students question technology and the place of 'the social' in its development and use, fervently hoping that my enthusiasm for it rubs off on them  It has :) Sharing my research, answering their questions and listening to their ideas has been the most rewarding experience. The enthusiasm and faith of young people in the value and significance of my PhD research project gives me encouragement to pursue it. 

I grew up in the seaside suburb of Bandra West in Bombay, India where I was lucky to spend much of my life walking the leafy by-lanes and witnessing countless Arabian sea sunsets. I consider it home. I also spent a year working as a lawyer in New Delhi, where my love for paranthas blossomed and two years teaching in Bangalore, where I developed a new found love for the forest, its assorted creatures, Andhra style biryani (Meghana's ftw!) and fell even more in love with teaching.  I enjoy singing, mediocre ukelele playing, reading, crochet and questionable TV. I currently live in Melbourne, Australia. 

 

bottom of page